Skip to content
EP0801 User Experience Fundamentals (UXF)
Share
Explore

icon picker
UXF 03



Instructional Hours: 60 Hours
No. of Weeks: 15
Period: 21 April 2023 - 13 Feb 2023
The daily schedule for lecture, tutorial, practical and assessment activities are outlined in the table below: The module will be run in 4 hours across 15 sessions.
Search
Week 01: Research & Evaluation
Fri, Apr 21
Week 02: User Research + Stakeholder Management
Fri, Apr 28
Week 03: Information Syntheses + UX Mapping
Fri, May 5
Week 04: User Personas + HMW Statements
Fri, May 12
Week 05: Online Consultation (CA1)
Fri, May 19
Week 06: Online Consultation (CA1)
Fri, May 26
Week 07: CA1 Online Presentation
Mon, Jun 5
Week 08: Term Break
Fri, Jun 9
Week 09: Term Break
Fri, Jun 16
Week 10: Ideation + Critique
Fri, Jun 23
Week 11: Prototyping
Fri, Jun 30
Week 12: Visual Design
Fri, Jul 7
Week 13: Visual Design
Fri, Jul 14
Week 14: Usability Testing
Fri, Jul 21
Week 15: ASC 2023/WSA 2023 [No Class]
Fri, Jul 28
Week 16: Consultation
Fri, Aug 4
Week 17: In-Class Consultation
Fri, Aug 11
Week 18: Final Presentation + Submission
Fri, Aug 18
Week 01: Research & Evaluation
Date
Fri, Apr 21
Duration
4 hrs
Key Agenda
Introduction to UX Design
Project Scoping: Select F&B Business.
Background Research
SWOT Analysis
Competitor Analysis
Problems Identification (Assumptions)
Introduction to Heuristics Evaluation
Lesson plan
[1400 - 1415] Settle In.
[1415 - 1445] Introduction to UX Design + Module Briefing.
[1445 - 1500] Introductions to Miro + Warm-up.
[1500 - 1530] Group Formulation + Ice Breaking
[1530 - 1600] Activity: Project Scoping
Step 1: Each member to pick a “Eat, Live, Play” business with the following:
High-level problems identified
Why the group should pick this business
Step 2: Quick presentation within the team
Step 3: Collective voting to decide on the final F&B business.
[1600 - 1630] Coffee Break // Complete Voting by 1030.
[1630 - 1715] Background Research
Activity 1: SWOT Analysis
Activity 3: Competitor Analysis
Activity 4: Assumed User Problems (Research from Internet)
[1715 - 1745] Introduction to Heuristics Evaluation
[1745 - 1800] Weekly Retrospective + Class Conclusion
Homework
More In-depth Background Research
Heuristic Evaluation of F&B Business’ Product(s)
Assessment 3
0
CA1: UX Research
Weightage
40%
Assessment Criteria
Customer Journey Map (30%)
Persona (30%)
Research Findings on Business (30%)
Objectives
To develop understanding of the importance of research in the first phase of design
To learn how to conduct secondary and primary research
To develop analytical skills on insights gathering
CA2: UX Design
Weightage
40%
Assessment Criteria
Introduction (20%)
Prototyping Process (40%)
Prototype Demonstration (30%)
Objectives
To apply UX research in developing a viable solution
To apply the UX principles learnt into designing a product: services, apps etc
To create an interactive prototype using relevant UX and design tools
CA3: UX Review
Weightage
20%
Assessment Criteria
Identify a product (10%)
Apply 5 relevant principles/concepts to analyse product (50%)
Reflection on learning (20%)
Objectives
Identify UX Design of products in our everyday lives
Apply the UX research and UX design principles/concepts to critically analyse the design of these products
Reflect on the learning and insights from this CA on UX Design
Semester Calendar 3
1

October 2023

Month
Today
Sunday
Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday

Want to print your doc?
This is not the way.
Try clicking the ⋯ next to your doc name or using a keyboard shortcut (
CtrlP
) instead.