Segmenting Formulas
Share
Explore

Segmenting Formulas

Make formula writing easier and your documents faster
It is very common for formulas in your tables to become long. Or you might find yourself needing to write a particularly complex formula that you are struggling to make work. This is where formula segmenting can really begin to help.
Segmenting your formulas across columns has the following benefits:
Easier to write
Easier to debug
Actually faster for your docs and tables!
Segmenting your formulas is where you write formulas in small chunks in separate columns, rather than writing one large formula in a single column
Take for example the table below.
A non-segmented formula
The formula that is written in the gray column is a longer and harder to understand and de-bug formula that pulls all the vowels out of the first half of a persons email.
A segmented formula
The blue columns demonstrate how to segment this same formula across multiple columns. Segmenting in this way makes the formula easier to understand, write, de-bug, and makes your doc faster in the long run
People
0
Name
Age
Icon
Email
All vowels in first half of an email address
Email Half Point (1)
First Half (2)
Email Split (3)
Vowels (4)
Name
Age
Icon
Email
All vowels in first half of an email address
Email Half Point (1)
First Half (2)
Email Split (3)
Vowels (4)
1
Ronnie Gross
3
rgross@live.com
o
7
rgross@
rgross@
o
2
Bryan Johnson
11
bjohnson@optonline.net
ooo
11
bjohnson@op
bjohnson@op
ooo
3
Angela Hill
37
ahill@comcast.net
aio
8
ahill@co
ahill@co
aio
4
Matthew Smith
77
msmith@outlook.com
iou
9
msmith@ou
msmith@ou
iou
5
Megan Smith
30
msmith@gmail.com
i
8
msmith@g
msmith@g
i
6
Daniel Ayers
18
dayers@icloud.com
aei
8
dayers@i
dayers@i
aei
7
Bradley Alexander
66
balexander@hotmail.com
aeae
11
balexander@
balexander@
aeae
8
Robert Serrano
29
rserrano@outlook.com
eaoo
10
rserrano@o
rserrano@o
eaoo
9
Lisa Saunders
30
lsaunders@mac.com
aue
8
lsaunder
lsaunder
aue
10
Robin Pugh
7
rpugh@comcast.net
uo
8
rpugh@co
rpugh@co
uo
There are no rows in this table
Ready to master Coda yourself?
Join the Coda School today

Share
 
Want to print your doc?
This is not the way.
Try clicking the ⋯ next to your doc name or using a keyboard shortcut (
CtrlP
) instead.