Skip to content
SchoolKit Hub Study Abroad Aid

icon picker
Kyoto University

Kyoto University is a national research university located in Kyoto, Japan. It was founded in 1897 as Kyoto Imperial University and is one of the oldest and most prestigious universities in Japan. The university has an outstanding reputation for research and has produced numerous Nobel laureates, including seven in chemistry, one in physics, and one in medicine or physiology.
Kyoto University has three main campuses, Yoshida, Uji, and Katsura, with the Yoshida campus being the largest and most centrally located. The university is organized into 10 faculties, 18 graduate schools, and numerous research institutes and centers. The faculties cover a wide range of subjects, including science, engineering, medicine, agriculture, law, economics, education, and humanities.
Kyoto University is known for its strong research programs, particularly in the fields of medicine, engineering, and physics. The university has been involved in numerous groundbreaking research projects, including the discovery of induced pluripotent stem cells (iPS cells) by Professor Shinya Yamanaka in 2006, which won him the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2012.
The university also has a strong commitment to internationalization and has a number of exchange programs with universities around the world. It is home to a diverse student body, with a significant number of international students.
To be admitted to Kyoto University, applicants must have completed 12 years of primary and secondary education and have a good academic record. International students must also demonstrate proficiency in the Japanese language, as most courses are taught in Japanese. The university offers a Japanese Language Program for international students who need to improve their language skills.
In terms of visa requirements, international students must obtain a student visa to study at Kyoto University. This requires submitting a Certificate of Eligibility (COE) to the Japanese embassy or consulate in their home country, along with other required documents. The COE is issued by the university and certifies that the student is eligible to study in Japan. Once the student has obtained the student visa, they can enter Japan and begin their studies at Kyoto University.
Want to print your doc?
This is not the way.
Try clicking the ⋯ next to your doc name or using a keyboard shortcut (
) instead.