News
News from clubs
0
Watch the video of our meeting on bringing Affirmative Action back to California
Thu, 06 Aug 2020 16:05:53 GMT
Relax with us in August
Tue, 04 Aug 2020 23:07:10 GMT
LJDC August Book Recommendations
Tue, 04 Aug 2020 22:33:47 GMT
LJDC General Meeting – August
Tue, 04 Aug 2020 22:31:13 GMT
Another Special Meeting + Deadline to Run for Office is Friday!
Tue, 04 Aug 2020 02:11:22 GMT
Club Meeting via Zoom: Tuesday, August 11
Mon, 03 Aug 2020 19:22:21 GMT
Join us Wednesday to discuss reversing California’s Affirmative Action ban
Mon, 03 Aug 2020 00:47:14 GMT
Invitation to Join
Fri, 31 Jul 2020 04:36:38 GMT
Notice of General Meeting and Notice of Endorsement Votes
Fri, 31 Jul 2020 04:08:02 GMT
PART 3: Equal Justice Series
Fri, 31 Jul 2020 03:51:27 GMT
July Meeting Notes
Wed, 29 Jul 2020 14:17:19 GMT
Notes from July Meeting – Listening to Powerful Women
Mon, 27 Jul 2020 07:50:49 GMT
Trans Allyship, Activism, and Resources
Fri, 24 Jul 2020 23:30:52 GMT
Campaign training – TODAY! – Also, stand with Joe!
Fri, 24 Jul 2020 16:15:38 GMT
CHECK YOUR VOTER REGISTRATION
Thu, 23 Jul 2020 18:01:32 GMT
For Many, Housing Can’t Wait
Wed, 22 Jul 2020 21:09:32 GMT
Dem Club Fundraiser for Fallbrook Food Pantry
Tue, 21 Jul 2020 19:16:11 GMT
July 26 – Time to Stop Watching: From White Privilege to White Ally
Mon, 20 Jul 2020 05:20:43 GMT
July 20 – Monthly Meeting – Listening to Powerful Women
Mon, 20 Jul 2020 01:13:09 GMT
The Most Important Race this Election Season!
Sun, 19 Jul 2020 21:30:39 GMT
Support our endorsed candidate for San Diego County Board of Supervisors Nora Vargas
Sun, 19 Jul 2020 21:28:56 GMT
July Virtual Meeting – July 28 – Our Local Economy in Times of Covid-19
Thu, 16 Jul 2020 17:14:15 GMT
We need you – yes you! – to run for office!
Mon, 13 Jul 2020 17:04:00 GMT
Club Meeting This Thursday, July 16!
Sun, 12 Jul 2020 21:50:22 GMT
Covid-19 Warning for PB
Sat, 11 Jul 2020 00:51:16 GMT
PART 2: Equal Justice Series
Sat, 04 Jul 2020 00:09:58 GMT
Next Meeting Aug 6th 6:30pm via Zoom
Wed, 01 Jul 2020 19:55:23 GMT
LJDC – July Book Recommendations
Wed, 01 Jul 2020 01:13:32 GMT
LJDC General Meeting – July
Wed, 01 Jul 2020 01:10:57 GMT
July Meeting on Zoom
Tue, 30 Jun 2020 23:53:28 GMT
Opinion: Coronavirus and homelessness in San Diego County
Tue, 30 Jun 2020 22:14:24 GMT
NOTICE: July Executive Board Elections
Tue, 30 Jun 2020 00:36:59 GMT
Notes from June 28 Endorsement Meeting
Sun, 28 Jun 2020 20:33:20 GMT
June Meeting Notes
Sun, 28 Jun 2020 15:58:03 GMT
May Meeting Notes
Sun, 28 Jun 2020 15:38:11 GMT
July meeting – Wednesday – Politics Pundits & Pandemic, Continued!
Thu, 25 Jun 2020 16:53:42 GMT
Renew Your Club Membership!
Tue, 23 Jun 2020 02:46:10 GMT
This Saturday: Panel Discussion on Racial Justice in the LGBTQ+ Community
Tue, 23 Jun 2020 02:40:59 GMT
Join “The Nancy Pelosi Way” – a Zoom event – Saturday!
Mon, 22 Jun 2020 21:36:51 GMT
Club Meeting via Zoom: Tuesday, June 23
Tue, 16 Jun 2020 23:28:45 GMT
Club Meeting + SCOTUS Victory This Week!
Tue, 16 Jun 2020 22:08:48 GMT
Notes from June Meeting
Tue, 16 Jun 2020 06:20:49 GMT
Resolution to Demand San Diego Democrats Refuse Donations from Law Enforcement Unions
Mon, 15 Jun 2020 00:42:39 GMT
The Most Important Local Race this Election Season!
Sun, 14 Jun 2020 03:22:16 GMT
June 15 – Monthly Meeting – Politics in the time of COVID
Sat, 13 Jun 2020 21:58:32 GMT
June 23 Virtual Meeting on Zoom
Sat, 13 Jun 2020 21:02:01 GMT
June 27 – East Area Event with Christine Pelosi
Sat, 13 Jun 2020 16:50:18 GMT
ACA 5 and Regular Club Meeting Next Week!
Thu, 11 Jun 2020 21:43:06 GMT
Next Meeting July 2nd 7:00pm via Zoom
Sat, 06 Jun 2020 17:34:22 GMT
Weds, June 17, 8:00am Coffee with Democrats On Line @ your home!
Sat, 06 Jun 2020 11:07:41 GMT
Watch La Mesa leaders discuss the police, protests, elections and more!
Thu, 04 Jun 2020 22:58:23 GMT
Wednesday meeting – La Mesa Democrats – Talk with local, state and national leaders!
Tue, 02 Jun 2020 18:01:54 GMT
June 2020 General Membership Meeting via Zoom
Sat, 30 May 2020 20:51:53 GMT
Notes from May Meeting
Sun, 24 May 2020 04:13:25 +0000
Previous Meeting April 9th On Line via Zoom
Wed, 06 May 2020 07:54:32 GMT
Title
Watch the video of our meeting on bringing Affirmative Action back to California
Description
Learn how Democrats are working to bring back Affirmative Action, with a star-studded panel of speakers, including Assembly members Shirley Weber & Lorena Gonzales! Watch the video of our Wednesday meeting, below.  Democratic lawmakers are looking to bring Affirmative Action back to California, 24 years after it was banned. The La Mesa-Foothills Democratic Club talked with two … Continue reading "Watch the video of our meeting on bringing Affirmative Action back to California"
Image
Content
Learn how Democrats are working to bring back Affirmative Action, with a star-studded panel of speakers, including Assembly members Shirley Weber & Lorena Gonzales! Watch the video of our Wednesday meeting, below.  Democratic lawmakers are looking to bring Affirmative Action back to California, 24 years after it was banned. The La Mesa-Foothills Democratic Club talked with two leaders in the drive to bring back Affirmative Action: Mss Weber and Gonzalez, both from San Diego. The two are sponsors of ACA-5, which overturns Proposition 209, the Affirmative Action ban that passed California in 1996. Also joining us on our panel discussion was Bud Mehan, Professor emeritus and founder of UCSD’s Create, which established the Preuss School as a workaround to 209. Additionally, we were joined by Ric Epps, a Political Science professor who’s retired from SDSU and current Department Chair of Political Science at Imperial Valley College. Professor Epps was program director in UCLA’s Academic Advancement Program (AAP), which provides assistance to underrepresented students. The panel was moderated by our own Professor Emeritus Carol Perkins. Additionally, we heard from board member Sean Quintal about California’s ballot initiatives, and Chris Pearson about recruiting candidates for local offices with just days until the deadline to register. Missed the meeting, or want to catch it again? Watch the video below: We need you — yes, YOU! — to run for local office! Find out more.  Time is running out: The deadline for many races is tomorrow (Friday) and for others it’s Aug. 12. And mark your calendars for our next meeting, Wednesday Sept. 2. Social time will be 6:30 pm, programming starts at 7 pm. See you then!
Date
Aug 6, 2020
Want to print your doc?
This is not the way.
Try clicking the ⋯ next to your doc name or using a keyboard shortcut (
CtrlP
) instead.