Brahms and Beethoven Violin Concertos

Brahms Violin Concerto


Biographical Summary:

Born in Hamburg, Germany, on May 7, 1833, Brahms was the great master of symphonic and sonata style in the second half of the 19th century. He can be viewed as the protagonist of the Classical tradition of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven. He died on April 3, 1897 - via

Longer Biography

Brahms Personality

The Violin Concerto


The concerto follows the standard
form, with three movements in the pattern quick–slow–quick:

non troppo
(D major)
(F major)
giocoso, ma non troppo vivace — Poco più
(D major)

The Premiere

The Performer: Joseph Joachim

Videos of the Brahms Violin Concerto

Want to print your doc?
This is not the way.
Try clicking the ⋯ next to your doc name or using a keyboard shortcut (
) instead.